Tags

, , , , , , ,

Queen Marie of Romania. Regina Maria on Facebook

Queen Marie of Romania - Diana Mandache collection

Queen Marie of Romania - Diana Mandache collection

What could I, a British born Princess wish more ardently than that England and Romania should be drawn together in an ever-increasing bond of friendship. Sentiment does not seem a great factor now-a-days when machinery business and stern facts rule our modern world, and yet, just England has kept through all times that loveable quality of being able to fall with her heart as well as think with her mind and work with her hands. I am not setting out to write quite inefficiently what others will expound with talent and understanding, I prefer today to keep well within my own ground which just happens to be that of sentiment. But I was told that a word of mine at the head of those pages would give them a special value, and if that is still the feeling of my people for their Queen today, I cannot refuse to comply with a desire which I regard as a sort of reward for all the love expounded upon this country which I adopted and which adopted me since my seventeenth year. I have seen many changes in these 36 years since Romania and my fate became one. There have been good and bad days some were cruel, some glorious, a few were even great. And although no progress is as big as that which we dream of, I have seen great progress, great extension and some dreams come true. Cruelly sad events have left me very lonely – I was destined to see many disappear before their time. Our ranks have thinned, but all the more do I feel the urge of promoting good feeling between the country of my birth and the country of my adoption. Romania is too little known even today and as its Queen I would like to add that is to little encouraged and too little loved. I have given my life to it. Having worked under two reigns, pupil of the first king , companion of the second I have been initiated into its hopes, fears, disappointments, I have taken part in  its struggles, successes and defeats. ‘No man knows the number of his days’, but whatever strength I still have is at my country’s disposal, all the more so because I have remained alone. I want Romania to be understood, loved and appreciated, it is a rich country, a good appreciated, it is a rich country, a good country, full of immense possibilities & huge resources – but we need help, generous understanding help, and encouragement also, for we are young. As I write these words, I seem to hear the tread of coming generations pressing in behind me, the tread of those who will be tomorrow’s strengths & whilst my voice is still listened to, is still looked upon as a loving mother’s voice, I would like to lift it in an ardent place for a closer understanding with England, a closer collaboration a closer mingling of interests are real love between the two countries which were the two great loves of my heart.   Marie

Queen Marie of Romania. Regina Maria on Facebook

©Diana Mandache and https://royalromania.wordpress.com 2009. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author is strictly prohibited.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl