Tags

, , , , , , ,

Princess Ileana & Queen Marie of Romania at Bran Castle - Diana Mandache collection

Princess Ileana & Queen Marie of Romania at Bran Castle - Diana Mandache collection

Princess’ Ileana children will reopen Bran castle on 1 June 2009.

The Bran Castle was a little fortified retreat, as Queen Marie liked to say. ‘The poetry, atmosphere, spirit of the place is extraordinary, so different from anything else. I think – Marie said – that we all at times feel we want to fly from our over-prosaic age into a little bit of once upon a time don’t you?’ Bran represented for Marie a place for discovering the medieval symbols. From this place the queen wrote in 1926 to her friend Roxanne Weingartner: ‘my only joy remain Bran and Balcic’, and ‘ at least they are my only incontestable properties’. Later on, in 1933 Queen of Romania wrote in a letter addressed to her people and country: ‘What you large-hearted gave it to me, I sent between you, I embellish the places were I lived… I brought to life the small neglected castle of Bran to a new life. And for this it means for more than I can ever say’. All rights reserved©Diana Mandache  https://royalromania.wordpress.com

Bran Castle (Diana Mandache collection)

Bran Castle (Diana Mandache collection)

