Tags

, ,

The crown was created in 1840 for King Willem II, by Bonebakker Jewellers of Amsterdam. It is fashioned from silver plated with gold. It consists of eight arches topped with an orb and cross. There were originally 72 fake pearls on the arches of the crown, but 24 were removed in 1898 and the holes filled with small gold studs. There are no precious stones in the crown, the gems are made from coloured glass backed by foil.

Guards watch over the regalia (Crown, Sceptre, Globus Cruciger and Sword of State) at the credence-table prior to the inauguration of HM King Willem Alexander of the Netherlands .

Two thrones are prepared prior to the inauguration of HM King Willem Alexander of the Netherlands at New Church on April 30, 2013 in Amsterdam

King Willem-Alexander of the Netherlands is being officially sworn in at a secular ceremony in the Nieuwe Kerk, a decommissioned church, before a joint session of the Dutch parliament.

“I swear that I shall defend and preserve the independence and territory of the state with all my powers.  That I shall protect the general and individual freedom and rights of all my subjects and shall use all available means granted to me by law for preserving and promoting general and individual prosperity as I befitting of a good king…. So help me God almighty.”